Chat with Ällei +49 221 29499139
Go back

#Simple2Go 12: The Giant Aquarium

"Imagine an oversized aquarium or swimming pool. Inside are all kinds of objects, and also artists. Most of them dance to themselves. But every now and then they move together. They keep changing their costumes, their positions in the room, in aquariums, at a wooden table with a diary and so on." I sent this WhatsApp message to my partner after an hour and a half at MAKK, where the piece takes place. 

And so it went on. Suddenly, the man in the golden dress grabs a pair of clogs and runs around the room with them. These are Dutch wooden shoes.

Back at home later on, I wonder: Could my athletic father also run barefoot with these? He has been living in Germany since I was born, which is almost 40 years ago: Maybe he is a "power migrant", an efficient immigrant, so to speak. 

The words "POWER MIGRANT" are projected on a wooden wall behind the dancer in the dress. I didn't know what that was about. In front of it, it said "FUCKING GENDER" and "Icecream". In other words, social criticism was well provided for. 

"BIOTOPE" literally means “living space”. The lively dance piece was created by the Dutch artist collective “United Cowboys”, together with Sommerblut.

The live music is unobtrusively rhythmic, and switches between ambient, hip hop and R&B influences, which is not uncommon in contemporary dance productions like these. Also brass, vocals and guitar interludes are added to the mix. The reverberation of the room blurs any rough sounds.

I am impressed: Nine artists are in motion for four hours. The movements are mostly slow, reminiscent of animals.

A beautiful, seemingly never-ending living perpetual motion - a perpetual motion machine!

Fragen, Antworten, Anregungen, Kritik? Melde Dich gerne bei Arne!

Mit Ällei chatten +49 221 29499139
Zurück

#EinfachHin 12: Das Riesenaquarium

„Stelle dir einfach ein übergroßes Aquarium oder Schwimmbad vor. Darin allerlei Gegenstände und Künstler:innen. Die meisten tanzen vor sich hin. Aber ab und zu gibt es gemeinsame Bewegungs-Abläufe. Sie wechseln immer wieder ihre Kostüme, ihre Positionen im Raum, in Aquarien, an einem Holztisch mit Tagebuch und so weiter.“ Diese WhatsApp-Nachricht schickte ich nach anderthalb Stunden im MAKK meinem Partner.
Und so ging‘s weiter. Plötzlich schnappt sich der Mann im goldenen Kleid ein paar Klompen und rennt damit durch den Raum. Das sind niederländische Holzschuhe.
Zu Hause denke ich: Könnte mein sportlicher Vater ebenfalls barfuß damit rennen? Er ist seit meiner Geburt vor knapp 40 Jahren in Deutschland: Vielleicht ist er ein „Power Migrant”, ein leistungsfähiger Einwanderer.
„POWER MIGRANT“ projizierte der Tänzer im Kleid an eine Holzwand. Da wusste ich nicht, was das soll. Davor stand da „FUCKING GENDER“ (verficktes Geschlecht) und „Icecream“ (Eiscreme), Für Gesellschaftskritik war damit bestens gesorgt. 
BIOTOPE“ heißt wörtlich Lebens-Raum. Die lebendige Ausstellung des niederländischen Künstler:innen-Kollektivs n United Cowboys (Vereinte Cowboys) mit Sommerblut.
Die Live-Musik ist unaufdringlich rhythmisch zwischen Ambient, Hiphop und R&B. Nicht selten in zeitgenössischen Tanz-Produktionen. Dazu Bläser-, Gesangs- und Gitarreneinlagen. Der Nachhall des Raumes lässt unsanften Geräusche verschwimmen.
Ich bin beeindruckt: Neun Künstler:innen sind vier Stunden lang in Bewegung. Die Bewegungen sind meistens langsam, erinnern an Tiere.

Ein schönes, scheinbar unendliches lebendiges Immer-Bewegen, ein Perpetuum Mobile!

Fragen, Antworten, Anregungen, Kritik? Melde Dich gerne bei Arne!